Dealing with emigration/immigration, violence and xenophobia, aging and inter-generational relationships, memory and belonging, What You Carry With You… was created and developed by a team of professional artists and technicians who collaborated with non-professional youth 14 -20 years old and elders to age 77 from Richmond, BC. Cast members had roots on 6 continents and spoke more than 25 languages between them. Some of the theme we examined included community participants’ personal narratives of leaving their homelands; surviving persecution, wars and famines; coming to a new land of hope; how their expectations matched or didn’t match the reality of their settlement; their inter-generational relationships with family members and friends; violence they encountered in their “new” home and how it triggered memories of violence experienced in their homelands.


The Government of Canada’s National Crime Prevention Strategy, BC Ministry of Community, Aboriginal & Women’s’ Services – BC Anti-Racism Program, Vancouver Foundation, Vancouver City Savings Credit Union – VanCity Community Partnership Program, Canada Council for the Arts – Inter-Arts – Artists & Community Collaboration Fund, Canada Council for the Arts -Theatre – Artists & Community Collaboration
Fund, Canadian Heritage – Multiculturalism, BC Arts Council, BC Gaming Commission – Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General, Canadian Race Relations Foundation, Richmond Community Foundation, The Leon and Thea Koerner Foundation, Chris Spencer Foundation, Creo Inc., InfoWest Consulting Ltd.


Gateway Theatre, City of Richmond through the Richmond Arts Centre /Richmond Cultural Centre, RM Development Corporation/Cosmo Plaza, Minoru Place for Seniors Centre.


Elaine Carol, Rebecca Bishop, Brahm Kornbluth, Jules Rochielle, Laura Mayne,
Laurie Newell, Eric D. Wong, Melissa Davis, Nathan Gilbert, Nan D. Hunter,
Rita Wong, Fern Karpman Vineberg, Brenda Joy Lem & Rick Wong, Kathleen
Stuart, Michael Arkin, Jo Ann Chew, Masashi & Mako Matsushita, Estelle
Cormier, Margaret Dragu, Grace Eiko Thomson, Dr. George Tien, Derek Wilson,
Melody Kimmel, Sheila Johnston and Simon Johnston.